Showing posts with label Shrewsbury. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Shrewsbury. Show all posts

28 April 2026

‘They have hanged my saintly
Billy’ – how Wiiliam Palmer,
the ‘Rugeley Poisoner’,
went on a murder spree

William Palmer, the ‘Rugeley Poisoner’ or the ‘Prince of Poisoners’, depicted in the Illustrated Times

Patrick Comerford

In recent days, I have been recalling two tales of murder involving residents of Rugeley, although when I looked deeper into both stories they were not substantiated by the records or by contemporary evidence.

Dorothy Chatwynd was said to have strangled her husband Sir Walter Smyth, three times her age, and to have been executed by being burned to death. Dorthy was an aunt of Thomas Chetwynd, who married Dorothy Coleman, a granddaughter of William Comberford of Comberford Hall and the Moat House, Tamworth.

But when I looked into this story in greater depth, it turned out there is no primary evidence nor are there contemporary records of either the murder or of the supposed execution on Wolvey Heath in Warwickshire.

The second tale involves the sisters Elizabeth Cuting and Emma Hollinhurst, said to have been buried alive in the old churchyard in Rugeley on the capricious orders of Oliver Cromwell. But it takes only a little probing to realise how impossible this was: Cromwell died in 1658 and the sisters died in Rugeley almost 40 years later: Elizabeth in 1695 and Emma in 1696.

However, across the road from the ‘Old Chancel’ and the shared tomb of the two sisters Elizabeth and Emma, two headstones in Saint Augustine’s churchyard tell real stories of Victorian murders in Rugeley. One headstone, on the southside of the churchyard, is to Christina Collins, who was murdered on a canal boat near the church in 1839. Fresh flowers are still laid on her grave regularly.

The grave of Christina Collins, murdered on a canal boat in 1839 … fresh flowers are laid on her grave regularly (Photograph: Patrick Comerford, 2026)

Nearby, under the yew trees at the west end of the church, is the grave of John Parsons Cook, murdered by Dr William Palmer (1824-1856). Undoubtedly Palmer had many other victims, but Cook’s murder was the only one for which he was convicted, and he was executed 170 years ago, in 1856.

Palmer is known as the ‘Rugeley Poisoner’ or the ‘Prince of Poisoners’. He poisoned his friend with strychnine, but he was also suspected of poisoning several other people, including his brother, his mother-in-law and four of his infant children – and there may have been many more. Charles Dickens called him ‘the greatest villain that ever stood in the Old Bailey’.

But why did he do it? Palmer made large sums of money from the deaths of his wife and brother by collecting on life insurance, he had defrauded his wealthy mother, and may have murdered his own children rather than bearing the expense of feeding and clothing them. And, it seems, it was all to feed an insatiable gambling addiction.

William Palmer was born at Church Croft House in Rugeley, between the canal and the ‘Old Chancel’ on 6 August 1824, the sixth of eight children of Joseph and Sarah Palmer. His father, a sawyer who made his fortunes in coalmining and collieries, died when William was 12, leaving his widow Sarah with a legacy of £70,000, the equivalent today of about £9.5 million.

At 17, Palmer was apprenticed to a chemist in Liverpool, but after three months he was dismissed amid allegations of theft and embezzlement. He was then taken on as a ‘walking pupil’ at Stafford Infirmary, went to London to study medicine at Saint Bartholomew’s Hospital, and received a diploma from the Royal College of Surgeons. He returned to Rugeley at the age of 22 in August 1846, styling himself Dr Palmer and setting up practice as a local GP.

Palmer met a plumber and glazier George Abley at the Lamb and Flag public house in Little Haywood, near Wolseley Bridge and half-way between Rugeley and Stafford. There Palmer challenged Abley to a drinking contest; Abley was carried home and died in bed. Nothing was ever proved, but local people noted how Palmer showed an interest in Abley’s attractive wife.

A year later, Palmer married 20-year-old Ann Thornton, also known as Ann Brookes, in Saint Nicholas Church, Abbot’s Bromley, on 7 October 1847. Her mother, also called Ann Thornton, was the mistress of Colonel William Brookes, a former East India Company office who had lived in Stafford. After Brookes died by suicide in 1834, she had inherited a fortune of £8,000, worth about £1.35 million today.

The elder Anne Thornton had lent Palmer money, and she died on 18 January 1849, two weeks after she came to stay with him. An elderly Dr Bamford recorded a verdict of apoplexy while Palmer, for his part, was disappointed with the smaller-than-expected inheritance he and his wife gained from the death.

Palmer became interested in horse racing and borrowed money from Leonard Bladen. They had met at the races, Bladen lent him £600, and then he died at Palmer’s house on Anson Street on 10 May 1850. Bladen’s wife was surprised to find that he died with little money on him despite having recently won a large sum at the races, that his betting books were missing, and there was no evidence that he had ever lent money to Palmer. The death certificate said Palmer was ‘present at the death’ and the cause of death was an ‘injury of the hip joint, 5 or 6 months; abscess in the pelvis’.

Palmer’s first son, William Brookes Palmer (1848-1926), outlived his father. But his four other children all died in infancy, and the cause of death for each child was given as ‘convulsions’. At the time, no one seems to have suspected anything untoward about these deaths, but after Palmer's conviction many suggested he had poisoned them to avoid the cost of feeding them.

An image of William Palmer on a tourist notice board on Market Street in Rugeley (Photograph: Patrick Comerford, 2026)

By 1854, Palmer was heavily in debt and was forging his mother’s signature to pay off creditors. He took out life insurance on his wife, paying a premium of £750 for a policy of £13,000. She died soon after, on 29 September 1854, at 27.

Palmer was still heavily in debt, owing £12,500 and £10,400 to two creditors, who threatened to speak to his mother and expose his fraud. He then took out life insurance on his alcoholic brother Walter, paying a premium of £780 for a policy of £14,000, and then plied Walter with several bottles of gin and brandy a day until he died on 16 August 1855. The insurance company refused to pay out, sent two inspectors to investigate the policy and demanded a further inquiry into Walter’s death.

By then, Palmer was having an affair with his 18-year-old housemaid, Eliza Tharme. Nine months after Anne’s death she gave birth on 26 or 27 June 1855 to a son Alfred, only adding to the doctor’s financial burdens. Palmer’s life and debts were spiralling out of control and he set about plotting the murder of his friend John Parsons Cook, a sickly young man who had inherited a fortune of £12,000.

Palmer and Cook went to the races in Shrewsbury in November 1855, where they bet on a number of horses. Cook won £3,000 but Palmer lost heavily. The pair had a party to celebrate but Cook began to complain that his gin had burnt his throat, fell violently ill and told two friends: ‘I believe that damn Palmer has been dosing me.’ The two men returned to Rugeley on 15 November, and Cook booked a room at the Talbot Arms. A day earlier, Palmer received a letter from a creditor named Pratt, who threatened to visit his mother to demand repayments.

By then, five-month-old Alfred was unwell and he died of erysipelas, a bacterial infection, on 17 November 1855. That same day, Cook thought he had recovered from his illness, met Palmer again for a drink, but became sick yet again.

At this point Palmer assumed responsibility for Cook. Cook’s solicitor, Jeremiah Smith, sent over a bottle of gin, and when a chambermaid took a sip she became ill. Cook was given the rest of the gin, and his vomiting became worse. A day later, Palmer bought three grains of strychnine from a Dr Salt, put them in two pills and gave them to Cook along with two ammonia pills. Cook died in agony at about 1 am on 21 November, screaming that he was suffocating.

When Cook’s stepfather, William Stevens, arrived in Rugeley on 23 November, Palmer told him Cook had lost his betting books, that all bets were cancelled and that Cook had £4,000 in outstanding debts. When Stevens demanded an inquest, Palmer produced a death certificate from an 80-year-old Dr Bamford giving the cause of death as ‘apoplexy’.

The Talbot Arms on the left and Palmer’s house to the right … an image of Market Street, Rugeley, at the time of Palmer’s trialin 1856

At a post mortem in the Talbot Arms on 26 November, Palmer interfered and took away the stomach contents in a jar, supposedly for ‘safekeeping’. When a second post mortem was held three days later on 29 November, the local postmaster Samuel Cheshire intercepted letters to the coroner and gave them to Palmer, and was later jailed for interfering with the mail. Palmer wrote directly to the coroner, asking for a verdict of death due to natural causes and enclosing a £10 note.

The jury delivered a verdict on 15 December saying Cook had ‘died of poison wilfully administered to him by William Palmer’. Palmer was arrested for murder and forgery, was held in Stafford Gaol, and put on trial at the Old Bailey in London on the grounds that a fair jury could not be found in Staffordshire. When the bodies of Ann and Walter Palmer were exhumed and reexamined, Walter was too badly decomposed to make any new findings but antimony was found in all the organs in Ann’s body.

Palmer’s was defended by Sir William Shee (1804-1868). The chemist Dr Salt and another chemist, Charles Roberts, admitted selling Palmer strychnine, believing he was going to poison a dog, but both had failed to record the sales in their poisons books. At the trial, Palmer’s finances and debts were detailed, showing he had only £9 in the bank on 3 November 1855. A man desperately in need of money to avoid the debtors’ prison at all costs had murdered his friend for his money and tried to cover his tracks by sabotaging the post-mortem.

It is said 30,000 people gathered at Stafford Gaol on 14 June 1856 to see Palmer’s public hanging. As he stepped onto the gallows, he looked at the trapdoor and exclaimed, ‘Are you sure it’s safe?’ He was not yet 32. He was buried beside the prison chapel in a grave filled with quicklime. After his execution, his mother is said to have cried out: ‘They have hanged my saintly Billy.’ Her words inspired the title of Robert Graves's final historical novel, They Hanged My Saintly Billy (1957).

The grave of John Parsons Cook in the churchyard of Saint Augustine’s Church, Rugeley (Photograph: Patrick Comerford, 2026)

The only victim for whose murder Palmer was convicted, John Parsons Cook, was buried in Saint Augustine’s churchyard, close to the grave of Christina Collins, who was murdered on a canal boat in 1839, close to the house where Palmer was born and was living as a child, and across the street from the ‘Old Chancel’ and the tomb shared by Elizabeth Cuting and Emma Hollinhurst, with effigies depicting them in tied, linen shrouds.

The Vicar of Rugeley had so many people visiting the churchyard to see where Cook was buried that he paid for a gravestone with two lines of Scripture: ‘Enter not into the path of the wicked. Avoid it, pass not by it, turn from it, and pass away’ (Proverbs 4: 14-15).

As for the Talbot Arms, where Palmer murdered Cook and where the sabotaged post-mortem had taken place, it took its name from the Talbot family, a local family of titled magnates who were descended from John Chetwynd, a first cousin of Dorothy Chetwynd, the alleged husband-killer.

John Chetwynd’s great-granddaughter, Catherine Chetwynd, who inherited Ingestre Hall and 10,500 acres in Staffordshire, married John Talbot (1710-1756) in 1748. The Talbot family owned coalmines, collieries and large tracts of land in Rugeley, Brereton and Cannock, and the Crown, a coaching inn on Market Street in Rugeley, was renamed the Talbot Arms.

It is part of the local lore in Rugeley that the name of the Talbot Arms was changed to the Shrewsbury Arms after Palmer’s hanging because of the embarrassing associations with Palmer’s murder of Cook and the subsequent inquest.

However, once again, this is probably another example of myth trumping history. The pub had been known as the Crown until 1810, when its name was changed to the Talbot Arms in honour of the grandson of Catherine Chetwynd and John Talbot, Charles Chetwynd Chetwynd-Talbot (1777-1849), 2nd Earl Talbot and later Lord Lieutenant of Ireland (1817-1821).

In the next generation, his son Henry John Chetwynd-Talbot (1803-1868) was Conservative MP for Armagh (1831), Dublin (1831-1833) and South Staffordshire (1837-1849). He succeeded his father as the 3rd Earl Talbot and 3rd Viscount Ingestre on 10 January 1849. Then, on 19 August 1856, a mere two months after Palmer’s execution, Talbot succeeded a distant cousin in the Talbot family as the 18th Earl of Shrewsbury and 18th Earl of Waterford.

The line of succession was not clear or obvious, and there were other claimants to fend off, including distant Talbot Irish kinsmen in Co Wexford and in Malahide. The House of Lords eventually ruled in favour of the Rugeley claimant, and the Talbot Arms in Market Street celebrated the occasion, changing its name to the Shrewsbury Arms.

Today the pub boasts the more trendy but less classy name of ‘The Shrew’ … possibly in the hope that the name will tame any future potential imitators of William Palmer.

Palmer is less well-known than Dr Hawley Harvey Crippen (1862-1910) nor is he as notorious as Dr Harold Shipman (1946-2004). But he remains the most prolific murderer in Rugeley and part of local lore and history.

The Talbot Arms, where Palmer murdered Cook, later became the Shrewsbury Arms and is now called ‘The Shrew’ (Photograph: Patrick Comerford, 2026)

14 May 2025

‘Light from Light, true God from
true God, begotten, not made’ …
the relevance of the Council of
Nicaea after 1,700 years in 2025


Patrick Comerford

This year marks the 1700th anniversary of the First Ecumenical Council of Nicaea – the church council that led ultimately to the adoption of the Nicene Creed. The Council of Nicaea in 325 was called shortly after the legalisation of Christianity in the Empire, East and West, and it played a critical role in overcoming the heresy of Arianism and shaping the theological foundations and unity of Christianity.

The council was called shortly after the legalisation of Christianity in the Empire, East and West, and it played a critical role in overcoming the heresy of Arianism and shaping the theological foundations and unity of Christianity. The council in Nicaea was the first ecumenical council in the life of the Church, and the creed it produced was completed at the First Council of Constantinople in 381.

The Nicene Creed remains one of the most enduring statements of faith, uniting us with believers down the centuries and around the world. A year of events is marking the anniversary of this turning point in Christian history, with conferences, publications, exhibitions, pilgrimages, special events and liturgical celebrations.

We Believe is a new, full-colour booklet with 24 short reflections that explore each line of the Creed in turn, drawing us deeper into its meaning and significance for everyday life. The booklet is accompanied by a range of downloadable resources and a series of Everyday Faith reflections starting on Trinity Sunday (16 June) to mark 1,700 years since the Creed’s development.

The Anglican mission agency USPG (United Society Partners in the Gospel) has produced We Believe, a six-session study guide inviting parishes and church groups to explore the Nicene Creed, which has united Christians worldwide for centuries.

Contributors from the Philippines to the Middle East discuss key elements of the Creed, including the nature of Jesus, the Resurrection and the power of the Holy Spirit. The questions and prayers encourage discussions around unity, diversity, and how to live out Christ’s message of love and justice in the world today.

‘We Believe, We Belong?’ is the theme of USPG’s annual conference at the Hayes Conference Centre in Swanwick

‘We Believe, We Belong?’ is also the theme of USPG’s annual conference this year at the Hayes Conference Centre in Swanwick, Derbyshire, from Tuesday 1 July to Thursday 3 July, with an option to attend for the day on Wednesday 2 July.

The conference is designed to reflect on the Nicene Creed not simply as a statement of belief, but as a declaration that forms and transforms the body of Christ and to ask how Christian unity can go hand-in-hand with the celebration of Christian diversity. The organisers are taking inspiration from Ephesians 4:16, reflecting on how the Church grows in love when every part is recognised, valued, and does its part.

The conference includes talks, interactive workshops, worship, Bible studies and reflections on how to deepen the expressions in the Nicene Creed of fellowship and commitment to each other across the diversity of cultures, contexts and languages within the Anglican Communion.

The critical topics being examined include whether all people feel they belong within the Church, especially when it comes to the key areas of championing justice – gender, economic, environmental and race.

The speakers this year include Bishop Vicentia Kgabe of Lesotho, a diocese in the Anglican Church of Southern Africa. Dr Kgabe is one of the ‘Africa Six’ female bishops. She was the Rector of the College of the Transfiguration, the provincial seminary, from 2014 until she became Bishop of Lesotho in 2021.

Bishop Philip Wright has been the Bishop of Belize since 2005, and later became the senior bishop in the Church in the Province of the West Indies. He was elected the World Council of Churches Regional President for the Caribbean and Latin America in 2022.

Canon Wadie Far, who is leading the Bible Studies at the conference, is canon pastor to the Arabic-speaking congregation in Saint George’s Cathedral, Jerusalem, and Vicar of Saint Paul’s Episcopal Church in the Diocese of Jerusalem.


The First Council of Nicaea by Mikhail Damaskinos (1591) in the Museum of Christian Art in the Church of Saint Catherine of Sinai in Iraklion (Photograph: Patrick Comerford)

The anniversary was also marked recently with a conference at the Ecumenical Institute in Bossey, Switzerland. Over three days, over 40 papers discussed the council’s contribution to ecumenical dialogue, its relationship to interfaith dialogue, the part played by women at Nicaea, gender justice, and the relationship between Christian faith and empire.

‘The deep concern at Nicaea to be faithful to the unity of God and to the unifying love of God is still a powerful and inspiring witness,’ the World Council of Churches President from Europe, the Revd Dr Susan Durber, said in one of the six keynote addresses.

The Council of Nicaea also agreed on a common date for Easter, although the use of different calendars now meant that Easter did not always coincide in East and West. The coming decade offers an opportunity to agree once again on a common Easter date.

A Study Day on the document, Jesus Christ, Son of God, Saviour: The 1700th Anniversary of the Ecumenical Council of Nicaea (325-2025) takes place next Tuesday (20 May 2025) in the Pontifical Urban University in Rome.

The Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Thyateira and Great Britain is celebrating the 1700th anniversary of the Council of Nicaea with a festival of holy icons, sacred music, talks and pilgrimages in May and June.

The celebration is hosted by the Greek Orthodox Parish of the 318 God-bearing Holy Fathers in Shrewsbury, Shropshire. The church, on an Anglo-Saxon site, is the only church in Britain – and possibly in Western Europe – dedicated to the 318 bishops who defended the faith at the council in 325 CE.

The celebrations include an exhibition in Saint Julian’s Church, Shrewsbury, of icons by leading contemporary British icon writers (24 May 24 to 6 June), and a concert of ancient sacred music (Sunday 25 May), with performances by the Chronos Ensemble and the Mosaic Choir. Lectures include talks by the master icon painter Aidan Hart during the icon.

An international symposium in Saint Julian’s Church, ‘Celebrating the First Ecumenical Council’, include the patristics scholar Father John Behr, Regius Professor at the University of Aberdeen (Saturday 21 June).

‘The Voices of Nicaea’ concert is a once-in-a-lifetime musical event, bringing back to life forgotten sounds of early and mediaeval Christianity. The programme includes compositions rediscovered in the ancient library of Saint Catherine’s Monastery on Mount Sinai and rare Byzantine kontakia dedicated to the Holy Fathers of the First Council of Nicaea, the earliest notated versions of the Nicene Creed, and the rediscovered sticheraria.

Other events include a pilgrimage to Saint Melangell’s Shrine, at Pennant Melangell, Llangynog, Powys (Bank Holiday Monday 26 May); an open day and services at the Church of the 318 Holy Fathers in Shrewsbury (Saturday 31 May); and a reception at Shrewsbury Town Football Club (Sunday 1 June). Archbishop Nikitas will preside over ceremonial services and celebrations in Shrewsbury on 31 May and 1 June.

Further information about these Nicaea 2025 celebration events are available HERE.

The year’s international activities culminate in the Sixth World Conference on Faith and Order in October near Alexandria in Egypt on the theme ‘Where now for visible unity?’ But there is speculation in many circles that during the year Pope Leo XIV may visit the Ecumenical Patriarch, Patriarch Bartholomew, in a significant ecumenical gesture.

The Council of Nicaea was convened by the first Christian Roman Emperor, Constantine the Great, who called for bishops to settle major divisions within the Church, chiefly the Arian heresy, which claimed that Jesus Christ was a created being and not fully God.

The council brought together 318 bishops, from across the empire, in May 325 CE, in the ancient city of Nicaea, now in modern Turkey. It was a defining moment for the Church and the first major event after the legalisation of Christianity as the Church faced a critical theological crisis and the response was decisive.

The Council affirmed the Apostolic Faith and that Christ is ‘Light from Light, true God from true God, begotten, not made, of one essence with the Father’. These words in the Nicene Creed settled Christ’s divinity, the cornerstone of the faith.

The faith that the Council of Nicaea witnesses to and hands on is the truth of a God who, being Love, is Trinity, and who, out of love, becomes one of us in hi Son. The Nicene stands at the heart of the Church’s faith as a wellspring of living water to be drawn upon also today.

Significantly, it was at Nicaea that the Church’s unity and mission were first expressed emblematically at a universal level.

The anniversary coincides with the common celebration of Easter by Christians of both East and West this year. I was in Greece last month for the Holy Week and Easter celebrations this year. Many people are hoping any visit by Pope Leo to Patriarch Bartholomew could open the possibility of agreement between East and West about returning to a shared common date for Easter, the most important date in the Church Calendar.

An icon depicting the First Council of Nicaea (325), holding the Nicene-Constantinopolitan Creed of 381